Sunday, August 12, 2012

O is better than T


This post is about my English teacher last year and how much greater she is than my present, so far. I know, it’s wrong to compare them but it’s inevitable isn’t?  I mean, c’mon you can’t avoid comparing things especially if one’s really greater and miles away from the other. 

Miss O’s my English teacher last year while in the present, I got Miss T.  I can still remember how considerate Miss O was. She did understand us, that we’re bombarded with lots of activities.  During my sophomore year, I didn’t appreciate Miss O’s awesomeness.  I thought she’s just like the others and sometimes, she pronounces words OA-ly. But I was wrong, really really wrong.

Fourth of June this year, I met our English teacher for this school year; I thought she was better than Miss O because she speaks in Filipino though she teaches the language that is dominant all over the world.  She looked nice and she truly is.  But she has really high expectations from us.  It’s like she’s assuming that since we’re in a science high school, we can do everything and we can meet all the deadlines. And she’s always putting us under time pressure. I know, she’s just practicing us for college but we are not Flash. We can’t do things in just a jiffy.  We can’t copy long notes (and when I say long, really long like five manila papers) within twenty minutes or less only then discuss things and have a quiz the following day. Once, we had a speech choir and she became upset. She said a lot of things like what we did was “under mediocrity” compared to the works of the other classes she’s handling.

Last year in our English class, we’re not used to copy long notes. Miss O always finds a way to make things simpler, like having group activities to discuss things which was in favor of us. She appreciates everything- the good, the beautiful, the dark and the ugly. And she gives high grades. She even gave me a 95 for the second quarter though I didn’t pass my portfolio.  Motherly image? Miss O possesses that. She treated us well and I can’t even count how many times she told us that we are improving. Students are obliged to speak in English during Miss O’s time. Whenever she hears a single “peram naman ng ano mo” and likes she’ll always say “Who said that? Vernacular, huh?”. 

Back to Miss T, she says “shit” in front of the class and I don’t like that. She can use other terms, right?  She is very quiet and mysterious. While we’re copying or doing things, she’d just walk round and round our room, thinking of things, maybe. Unlike our Research teacher who really loves to talk haha.
I’m not mad at Miss T. It’s just that I’m longing for someone like Miss O because she is really amazing. Maybe, I’m not yet done of adjusting myself and cope with Miss T’s ways.  I hope I’ll be able to appreciate her awesomeness too, soon. I really do. //paalam

No comments:

Post a Comment